5th Serbian-Greek Symposium on Advanced Mechanics​

5th Serbian-Greek Symposium on Advanced Mechanics

Previous symposia

The Serbian – Greek Symposia are organized by one of the participating countries. These special meetings of delegates of the two countries, initiated by late Prof. N. Hajdin, former President of SASA, and Prof. A. Kounadis, member of Academy of Athens, and Prof. J.T. Katsikadelis date back to the 1990s.

In the symposium, senior and younger scientists, mainly from Greece and Serbia, come together and present their latest research work in the area of Applied Mechanics. Except from successful productive presentation of great scientific importance, there is also traditional building and continuation of friendship and personal interaction between the participants.

The Serbian–Greek Symposium started as a scientific meeting of the Serbian Academy of Sciences and Arts.

The 2nd Serbian-Greek Symposium on Solid Mechanics, Serbian Academy of Sciences and Arts took place in November 14-15, 1996.

The 3rd Serbian–Greek Symposium was organized by the Serbian Academy of Sciences and Arts (Branch in Novi Sad) and the University of Novi Sad together with the Office of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics of the Academy of Athens and the Hellenic Society of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics. The Symposium was held at SASA, in Novi Sad, Serbia, from September 15 until September 17, 2008. The Symposium welcomes distinguished scientists from Germany, Italy and Poland as observers, who expressed interest for cooperation of their countries.

The previous symposium called 4th Serbian-Greek Symposium was organized in Vlasina Lake (Surdulica) in 2011 , from July 9th to July 10th, by Serbian Society of Mechanics (SSM) and was also supported by Serbian Academy of Sciences and Arts (SASA), Hellenic Society of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics (HSTAM), Office of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics of the Academy of Athens, Serbian Chamber of Engineers, and Ministry of Education and Science of the Republic of Serbia. Local organizers were Faculty of Mechanical Engineering of University of Belgrade, Faculty of Mechanical Engineering of University of Nis, Municipality of Surdulica. Apart from Serbian and Greek researchers, the symposium had an opportunity to welcome scientists from Germany and Poland.

About the symposia

The 5th Serbian-Greek Symposium on “Current and Future Trends in Mechanics” will be held in Kragujevac, Serbia, on June 28-30, 2021. The Symposium is organized by the Serbian Society of Mechanics (SSM) and the Hellenic Society of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics (HSTAM). Apart from main organizers, the following institutions will also be involved in the symposium as co-organisers: Serbian Academy of Sciences and Arts, University of Kragujevac, University of Belgrade, University of Nis, University of Novi Sad and Serbian Society for Computational Mechanics thus covering almost all meaningful institutions in Serbia that perform research in the different areas of mechanics

Up to 60 participants, including young scientists, from both countries will be invited to attend the Symposium and present their papers in the area of Mechanics

Also, scientists from other European countries are also invited to take part in the symposium

Co-chairmen of the Symposium are: Prof. Georgios E. Stavroulakis from Technical University of Crete, Greece and Prof. Nenad D. Filipovic from University of Kragujevac, Serbia

The participants will have to submit a two-page extended abstract of their contribution not later than 15 April 2021. The Abstract will be written using the attached template (no less and no more than two pages) and will be published in the Book of Abstracts with ISBN. After the symposium, high-quality papers will be published in special issues of journals organized by SSM and HSTAM.


  • General Mechanics
  • Fluid Mechanics
  • Mechanics of Solid Bodies
  • Biomechanics
  • Control and Robotics
  • Interdisciplinary and Multidisciplinary Problems

Important Dates

  • Submission of scientific contributions (full papers and extended abstracts on two pages) till 15. April 2021 EXTENDED 10. May 2021.
  • Notification of acceptance: 25. April 2021 EXTENDED 20. May 2021.
  • Deadline for registration fee payment: 15. May 2021 EXTENDED 10. June 2021.

Registration Fees

The registration fees should be paid before 15 May 2021:

  • Members of SSM and HSTAM          100 Euros
  • Other participants                               150 Euros
  • Students                                                  80 Euros
  • Virtual (Online) participants                50 Euros
  • Accompanying persons                        50 Euros      

The fees will include: Congress program, Congress proceedings, attendance at all scientific sessions, coffee breaks, lunches and banquet. One registration fee covers two proposals.

Manuscript Submission

Submit your paper (doc, docx, pdf format only) through our online paper submission system at the following LINK.

Step 1:

Select “Make Submission”, fill in the details and enter a password. Upon completing the details, click on “Make Submission”. A Submission ID will be generated for your paper.

Step 2:

Go back to LINK, select “Upload File” and upload your paper (doc, docx, pdf format only). You are required to enter your Submission ID and password to upload the file.

File must be compliant to ATTACHED TEMPLATE.
Submissions will be screened through plagiarism checking services.
Papers are reviewed on the basis that they do not contain plagiarized material and have not been submitted to any other conferences/workshops/symposia at the same time (double submission).

Selected papers will be published in special issues of journals: Serbian Journal of Computational Mechanics and Theoretical and Applied Mechanics.

Manuscript Presentation

For manuscript presentation BigBlueButton Online Web Conferencing Platform will be used. Presentations will be uploaded before meetings and they will be presented during the meetings with interactive discussions.

Updated information will be published at the website.

Co-chairmen of the Symposium

                                            Professor G.E. Stavroulakis                                                                       Professor N. D. Filipovic

                                            President of HSTAM                                                                                    President of SSM